Fulton County Logo
Contact the County
Probate Court banner
 
 
 
 
 
 

FC Home Weapons Carry License

Weapons Carry License | Print |

Quick Tips for Weapons Carry License Applications (Gun Permits)

NOTICE!   NOTICE!   NOTICE!

No bills larger than $20.00 are accepted for cash transactions in the Probate Court

You must appear in person at one of the Probate Court offices to make application and have your picture taken for your license.   No individual or private company can apply for you without your appearing at one of the Probate Court offices before the application is processed.

Changes effective January  1, 2016

When applying for a Weapons Carry License, or for a Renewal of your Weapons Carry License issued by the Fulton County Probate Court, you will be required to visit two (2) separate locations.   This is a three (3) step  process.

STEP 1:  Visit the Fulton County Probate Court (locations listed below) to file your application for a Weapons Carry  License.   An application  fee is required (see below).   You will receive a Law Enforcement Affidavit from  the Court to take to the Police Department.    

STEP 2:  Take the Law Enforcement Affidavit with you  to the Police Department listed below the Court locations.   If this is for a new application, they will take your fingerprints to do a background check, or if this is for a Renewal, they will electronically conduct a background check of your name with NCIC.    Each Police Department has a different fee for this service (see below).

STEP 3:    If you would like the Court to mail your license to you, you must provide the Court with a Self-Addressed, Stamped Envelope; you must be prepared to sign a written authorization giving the Court permission to mail your license to you, and you must be prepared to sign a written guarantee that you will pay the costs to have the license reprinted if you do not receive the license after the Court mails it to you in the envelope you provided.

You will need to visit our  downtown location to pick up your license if you did not provide the above.  

Please note: You may call (404) 613-4689alt to check on the status of your application.

Age: 21 years of age or Older or at least 18 and have proof that you have completed the basic training in the U. S. Armed Forces; that you are currently on active duty in the U. S. Armed Forces; or that you have been honorably discharged from the U. S. Armed Forces.

Who: You must be domiciled (primary residence) in Fulton County or if you are not a domiciliary of Fulton County, you are on active military duty and either stationed at a military location in Fulton County of residing in Fulton County and stationed at a military location outside Fulton County.

What to Bring:  Applicants must furnish proof of Fulton County residence on a photo ID such as  a valid Georgia Driver's License;  a Georgia State ID Card or Military ID and orders showing that you are stationed in Fulton County or a contiguous county.    If you are a Non-US citizen  you  must furnish a Resident Alien ID card or other proof of lawful admission as a permanent resident in the USA.

Fees:

First-time Applicants:

  • $72.50 cash only - exact change - we will accept money orders. ¬† There will also be an additional fee at the police department for fingerprinting.

Renewals:

  • $30.00 Cash for license fee. ¬† There will also be an additional fee at the police department for the electronic criminal history report. ¬† (Note: ¬† If license has been ¬†expired for more than 30 days, it will not be considered as a renewal)

Fulton County, Alpharetta and Sandy Springs Police Departments have additional fees for the fingerprint services.    

When & Where:

DOWNTOWN LOCATION:

Fulton County Probate Court;  136 Pryor Street, Suite C-230, Atlanta, Georgia 30303, (404) 612-4692alt or (404) 613-4583alt

Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Fingerprinting:

Fulton County Police Department

141 Pryor Street, (located on the 4th floor of the Fulton County Government Center), Atlanta, Georgia 30303 (404) 613-5700alt

Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Fingerprinting    fee  $5.00    

***************************

NORTH SERVICE CENTER:

7741 Roswell Road, Suite 219, Sandy Springs, Georgia 30350 (404) 613-7638alt

Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Fingerprinting:

Alpharetta Police Department

2565 Old Milton Parkway, Alpharetta, Georgia 30009   (678)   297-6300

Fingerprinting fee $10.00        

Monday, tuesday, Thursday and Friday - 9:00 am - 2:30 pm; Closed on Wednesdays - No Fingerprinting.

Sandy Springs Police Department

7840 Roswell Road, Building 301,  Sandy Springs, Georgia 30350 (770) 551-6900alt

Fingerprinting fee $10.00     Accepts cash,  debit cards and  most credit cards (no money orders or checks).    

Monday through Friday 8:00 am - 5:30 pm

*******************************

SOUTH SERVICE CENTER:

5600 Stonewall Tell Road, Suite 218, College Park, Georgia   30349 (404) 612-3048alt

Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Fingerprinting:

Fulton County Police Department

5539 Old National Highway,  College Park, Georgia 30349

Fingerprinting Fee $5.00

Monday - Friday   9:00 am - 2:00 pm

 

 
 

Translate This Page

One Fulton Blog