FULTON COUNTY VETERANS EMPOWERMENT COMMISSION, INC

Board Established by: County

Description:

At it's April 21, 2021 Recess Meeting, (Item number 21-0282) the Fulton County Board of Commissioners created and established the Fulton County Veterans Empowement Commission, Inc., A Domestic Non profit entity: authorzing and directing the County Manager and County Attorney to take all necessary steps to form and implement this entity consistent with the laws of the State of Georgia; and for other purposes.

The Veterans Commission shall, among other things, function to empower veterans to improve their health and wellbeing, and provide information and resources to veterans and their familes on available benefits, medical care, social support and financial opportunities. The Veterans Commission shall serve as an advisory body to the Board of Commissioners to investigate and provide recommendations to the Board of Commissioners of priorities, objectives, and policies which will support the veteran population in Fulton County and to research, apply for grant funding and make funding recommendations for public and private programs which will benefit the veteran population of Fulton County, Georgia.

Membership/Appointment:

The Veterans Commission shall have the following members: Each Commissioner shall appoint two (2) members. Such appointees shall be residents of, or work in Fulton County and shall have military experience or expertise in the areas affecting military veterans.

Term:

Veterans Commission shall serve three (3) year terms, with such term subject to the discretion of the appointing Commissioner, who can remove a member for cause, otherwise such member may continue to serve beyond his/her term unitl a successor is appointed.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings:

Contact(s): Ann Isaac, Program Manager

Health & Human Services, Department of Community Development

ann.isaac@fultoncountyga.gov

404-613-0413 (Office)

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Dr. Samantha K. Brown-Parks	District 3b Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2024
2	Mr. James (Jim) Currie	District 7a Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2024
3	Mr. Jim Garcia	District 7b Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2024
4	Mr. Shawn Hanley	District 2a Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024

5	Mr. Stephen Leake	District 2b Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024
6	Ms. Patricia Lewis	District 6a Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
7	Mr. Eldson McGhee	District 5a Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2024
8	Mr. Anthony Merritt	District 5b Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2024
9	Mr. Mike Mizell	District 1a Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2024
10	Mr. Michael Moore	District 3a Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2024
11	Mr. Rihard H. White	District 1b Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2024