FULTON COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL

Board Established by: County

Description:

This Board was established by a Resolution of the Board of Commissioners on October 17, 1979 (Item #9), to oversee the County's arts program. The primary function of the Council is to advise the Board in the area of the arts, to oversee generally the needs of the arts in the County and to review and channel art programs and contracts. The Council is to submit an art plan for each calendar year which will include 1) a definition of needs; 2) a solution of these needs; 3) a request for support of programs by specific contracts which would include: a) contracts with larger organizations for annual programs; b) contracts with smaller organizations for semi-annual programs. The Council shall give priority to programs which will introduce the arts to new audiences, and will insure that the enjoyment of the arts is available to all citizens of the County and most especially children, the elderly, the handicapped, and those citizens who, because of economic or other circumstances, have not had ready and regular access to the arts.

At the July 10, 2024 First Regular Meeting, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted an Ordinance (#24-0488) amending Chapter 101 (General Provisions and County Governing Authority), Article 2 (County Governing Authority), Division I (Generally), to create a new Section 101-76 of the Fulton County Code of Laws to provide procedures for District and Full Board appointments to the Boards, Commissions, Taskforces, Committees, Councils and Authorities affiliated with, or operating on behalf of Fulton County, Georgia, to provide that all appointees serve at the pleasure of either the nominating Commissioner for District appointments or the Board of Commissioners for Full Board appointments.

Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Fulton County Arts Council consists of the following amendments to Item 9 of the Resolution creating the Arts Council, adopted on October 17, 1979, as codified in the Fulton County Code Sections 126-46 and 126-47:

1) The Arts Council shall be composed of fifteen (15) residents of the County.

2) Initially, each member of the board of commissioners shall appoint two persons to serve on the council, one person to serve for a one-year term and one person to serve for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board; thereafter, each year, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. Each member may continue to serve beyond his/her term until replaced.

3) The chairman of the arts council shall be appointed to a two-year term by a majority vote of the board of commissioners.

4) The council shall elect a Vice-chairman and a secretary from its membership.

Term:

After the initial staggered terms, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Second Thursday Every Other Month

Contact(s): David Manuel, Director Arts & Culture 141 Pryor Street, SW Suite #2030 Atlanta, Georgia 30303 404-612-5783 david.manuel@fultoncountyga.gov Dr. Joycelyn J. Fowler, Deputy Director Department of Arts and Culture Fulton County Government Center 141 Pryor Street, Ste 2030 Atlanta, Ga. 30303 404-612-8190 (office) Joycelyn.Fowler@fultoncountyga.gov

Marcia Dore, Administrative Coordinator II/Assistant to the Director of Arts & Culture Department of Arts & Culture 141 Pryor Street SW, SUITE 2030 Atlanta, GA 30303 PHONE 470-869-7228 marcia.dore@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Linda Bain	District 2-b Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2026
2	W. Imara Canady	District 5-a Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	12/31/2025
3	Nilendra Chanda	District 1-a Nominated By: Commissioner Bridget Thorne	12/31/2026
4	Nikki D Crump	District 7-b Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2026
5	Sandra DeShields-Hightower	District 6-b Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
6	Catherine N. Fitch	District 2-a Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2026
7	. Onaje Henderson	District 4-a Nominated By: Commissioner Mo Ivory	12/31/2026
8	Fahamu Pecou	District 4-b Nominated By: Commissioner Mo Ivory	12/31/2025
9	Jennifer Pino	BOC/Chair Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2026
10	Angela Y Robinson	District 5-b Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2026
11	Susan Rumble	District 1-b Nominated By: Commissioner Bridget Thorne	12/31/2025

12	Pamela Smith	District 7-a Nominated By: Chairman Robb Pitts	12/31/2025
13	Gary E. Snyder	District 3-b Nominated By: Commissioner Dana Barrett	12/31/2026
14	Brandon A. Tonge	District 6-a Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024