# FULTON COUNTY COMMUNITY ZONING BOARD

Board Established by: County

### **Description:**

On June 20, 2001, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners approved a resolution amending sections 58-36, ET SEQ., Fulton County Code of Laws, to rename the Fulton County Planning Commission as the Fulton County Community Zoning Board as established by the 1946 County Home Act and the 1957 General Planning Enabling Act. The community zoning board shall review and make recommendations to the board of commissioners regarding properties located within, and matters affecting, unincorporated Fulton County.

### Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Fulton County Community Zoning Board consists of the following amendments to Section 2 of the Resolution 01-0597 of the Fulton County Zoning Board, adopted June 20, 2001 and codified in Article II of Chapter 58, Section 36: The Fulton County Board of Commissioners shall appoint seven (7) members to a Community Zoning Board for unincorporated Fulton County. Appointments shall be made as follows: Each member of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners shall nominate, for full Board approval, a member to the Community Zoning Board. The Community Zoning Board shall review and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners (as such powers are defined in this Chapter) regarding properties located within, and matters affecting, unincorporated Fulton County. Members of the Community Zoning Board will be provided periodic training, as determined by the Director of the Department of the Department of Planning and Community Development.

From the membership of the Community Zoning Board, the Board of Commissioners shall appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair to serve no more than two (2) years. The Vice-Chair may be appointed to the duties of the Chair when deemed necessary by emergency or when the Chair is no longer able to perform those duties assigned, as determined by the Board of Commissioners. The duty of the Chair shall be to conduct the meetings in accordance with the procedures set forth herein, and the Vice-Chair shall conduct the meetings in the Chair's absence. The members shall serve a term consistent with that of the member of the Board of Commissioners making the nomination. Members shall serve no more than two (2) terms, either consecutive or non-consecutive.

Members of the Community Zoning Board serve at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners and may be removed upon motion of the nominating Commissioner and affirmative vote of a majority of the Board of Commissioners. No member of the Community Zoning Board shall hold any other appointive or elective public office or position in unincorporated Fulton County during such member's term. Any vacancy in the membership shall be filled for the unexpired term of such vacancy in the same manner as the original appointment. An appointment to fill any vacancy on the Community Zoning Board shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term of office. Compensation of the members of the Community Zoning Board shall be fixed by the members of the Board of Commissioners.

## Term:

The members shall serve a term consistent with that of the member of the Board of Commissioners making the nomination. Members shall serve no more than two (2) terms, either consecutive or non-consecutive. Members of the Community Zoning Board serve at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners and may be removed upon motion of the nominating Commissioner and affirmative vote of a majority of the Board of Commissioners.

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$155 for 2 meetings

**Meetings:** Third Tuesday of the month and Wednesday, if needed.

### Contact(s): David E. Clark, Director Fulton County Public Works 141 Pryor Street SW, Suite 6001 Atlanta, GA 30303 404-612-2804 david.clark@fultoncountyga.gov

MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1 Mr. Chris Copenhaver	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024
2 Ms. Lynn Jarrett-Gude	District 1 Nominated By: Vice- Chairman Liz Hausmann	12/31/2014
3 Mr. Clifton W. Jenkins	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Joan P. Garner	12/31/2016
4 Ms. Rosemary Lawson-Edge	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner william "Bill" Edwards	12/31/2014
5 Mr. Bruce Moody	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Robb Pitts	12/31/2014
6 Mr. James K. Moss	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Emma I. Darnell	12/31/2020
7 Mrs. Kelly Singleton	At-Large Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2022